How I Saw Paris This Week (Part Twenty-One)

Bonjour and salut to you all! The weather has been unseasonably warm in Paris, with strong sunlight and autumn colors around every corner — a flaneur’s dream (and a photog’s as well!).

Before we continue I’m proud to announce that the online magazine Bonjour Paris will be highlighting my photography with a Photo of the Month feature. Each photo will have a 200 word essay attached and will be exclusive to their site, meaning you won’t find it on these blog posts. Be sure to check it out around the middle of each month! The first one can be found here.

Today’s “How I Saw” installment is a blend of glass, metal, stone, and mother nature. It’s a reminder of how many different ways the city does what it does. I hope you enjoy this week’s set and as always leave a comment if you’re inspired to do so!

On y va!

The relatively new canopy of the Forum des Halles (1st arr) is liked by some and lamented by others, but it at least makes for some interesting photo compositions. I find myself always stopping for a mini photo shoot when I’m in the area. I took another favorite photo of this structure as you’ll see further down.
I’m a sucker for autumn leaves, so when the sun shines in my backyard I try to capture a bit of the magic.
At Trocadero Square, across from the Eiffel Tower, there were once a set of bronze animal sculptures adorning the property. When the Trocadero Palace was destroyed, the animals were relocated to the Musée d’Orsay, seen here. A bit of urban migration, you could say.
One of the rare bits of the Renaissance period in Paris is La Fontaine des Innocents. It’s named after the medieval cemetery that once occupied this space, an infamous burial ground so crammed with dead Parisians that it one day burst at the seams and had to be shut down. The skeletons in the ground were later exhumed and became the first residents of today’s Catacombs. But the city only dug down 6 feet, meaning beneath this fountain there’s still plenty of medieval French DNA kicking around. I wouldn’t go drinking this fountain’s water any time soon…
Another fountain, less flashy than the previous one, is on Rue de l’Arbre Sec (1st arr). I don’t know of any other city where bicycles have more celebrity status. They seem to fit in effortlessly into any Parisian scene, not just adding to the atmosphere but often becoming the main subject.
img_0057
No this isn’t an ad for the Palais des Thés, just another of my love letters to October. :-) For the record the tea of choice here was Strong Breakfast. Pretty tasty!
img_0052
I go through my older shots sometimes and when I find a nice memory I like to bring it back into the fray. This is a pic I took over the summer in the Marais. Just a pleasing image, I think, and one that deserved to be brought back from the archives.
I’m quite a creature of habit when it comes to cafés. I guess I’m just tired of being disappointed by mediocre coffee (First World problem, I know). This is a place I’ve praised before called La Bossue, in Montmartre. Coming repeatedly to the same space lets you to search a more unique viewing angle, and in this case all I had to do was look above my head.
Everyone loves a good door handle. I randomly saw a friend in the Marais yesterday and we chatted while briskly walking Rue Rambuteau. When we passed by this door, my mind briefly drifted away from the conversation to make a mental note to come back to it. At the end of the street we gave la bise and said goodbye, after which I immediately trotted back to the door for a mini photo shoot. I think I would have had regrets otherwise!
Paris has layers upon layers of history, and sometimes you’re walking right over them. This spot on Rue de la Ferronerie marks the spot in 1610 where King Henri IV was assassinated while sitting in his royal carriage. His killer, Ravaillac, is famous not only for the crime but for his brutal public execution. For those interested you can hear me telling that story on The Earful Tower Paris Podcast, on episode one of the current season.
Another view of Les Halles and its canopy. Love those lines!
Another example of the direct sunlight that Paris is bathing in these days. Most of you know this café by now — a classic to say the least. Some recent tour clients of mine (hello Elinor & gang!) told me they had a fantastic lunch here. Sounds like I need to go experience that firsthand.
I kinda like to champion the lesser-known churches out there, and this is Saint Vincent de Paul (10th arr). Here you can sit on the steps outside and know you’re surrounded by locals. The architecture and interiors are well worth a look.
When giving Montmartre tours my morning commute takes me to this above-ground métro station, La Chapelle. The sun tends to blast its way through the Eiffel-esque structure and I can’t help but snap a picture each time.
I recently had a fancy-shmancy birthday lunch at Le Train Bleu, and this is one of the many details I shot. I hope to put together a proper blog post with the whole photo set. 

 

We’ll finish with a two-shot of Saint Sulpice (6th arr) and Le Bon Marché (7th arr). Two places that receive their own brand of pilgrims from around the world. :-)

There we go! For anyone who wants to explore Paris with me I can be contacted here for guided tours. Or if you want to follow along in real time you can find me on Instagram, Facebook, or hear me as a recurring guest on each episode of the Earful Tower Paris Podcast.

Have a great day folks!

30 comments

  • TRES BIEN COREY! Your photography is as fabulous as your tour! Everyone should be so lucky to have Corey introduce you to Paris! Katherine and Pete

  • Hi Corey,

    Happy belated birthday. I took myself to Le train bleu for breakfast once, was very nice.

    I m off to Japan soon to enjoy the autumn colours. Will take a pic or two for you.

    I m due to buy a new camera. Any recommendations … digital but not a big heavy one. Hv used Casios for the last few and they have taken good shots, at least i think they are :).

    Have a nice day and say hi to Paris for me :)

    Cheers, Penelope (Melbourne )

    On 18 Oct 2017 11:03 PM, “Discovery Tours of Paris by Corey Frye” wrote:

    > A French Frye in Paris posted: “Bonjour and salut to you all! The weather > has been unseasonably warm in Paris, with strong sunlight and autumn colors > around every corner — a flaneur’s dream (and a photog’s as well!). Before > we continue I’m proud to announce that the online magazine Bon” >

    • Thanks for your comment Penelope! I’m getting thirsty for coffee just looking at the word Melbourne. :-) I’m afraid I know virtually nothing about cameras; I specialize in iPhone photography because I have to stay ultra mobile as a tour guide. But I hope you find a dynamite piece of equipment that inspires you!

      Have a wonderful trip and happy shooting.

    • Ah, theatrical is a great word — I should have used that! :-) Paris does that sort of thing so well! Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment, I appreciate it. Have a good one Kiki.

  • Very nice set here. The photo of the girl in the fedora before St Sulpice would be a terrific cover for a novel set in Paris. Congratulations on expanding to Bonjour Paris and the Earful Tower. Your talents are being recognized, and your hard work is paying off!

    • Thanks Ellen for the supportive words. I’m just happy to get my version of Paris out there to more people. I love to connect with other lovers of photography, architecture, food, and history. Have a great day and thanks a lot for following along.

  • Great photos and commentary, as always! Congratulations on the new gig; I’ve signed up for their newsletter to ensure I don’t miss anything.

  • As I scroll down through the photos, I keep wishing for the Like button and all its iterations so I can rave over each one. You’ve probably mentioned it before but I had to laugh that your special camera is the iPhone. I’m using my Droid these days because something went amuck in my Canon G11 that I don’t know how to correct. It’s only slightly complicated and has the swivel LCD which I adore. I bought another Canon, somewhat of an upgrade. It looks like it would operate much the same as the G11 but it doesn’t. A simple manual is nonexistent and the complex manual is incomprehensible.

    We all loved your tour, if though I wasn’t the most energetic walker in the world. Maybe someday (getting harder to envision that) I’ll just ramble alone is Paris at my own pace, and poke into little corners like you do. Bises …

    • Thanks for the comment Lee! I too wish each photo had a like button and a separate comments section so people could discuss each image. Any time you’re in Paris you know where to find me.

  • Congratulations again, Corey! I subscribe to Bonjour, Paris, so I look forward to your articles and pictures on there as well. Congratulations as well for the
    other recognition and awards you’ve received!! You are so talented in writing and photography! I look forward to another tour in November!

    Cheryl Mueller

  • Corey, need I say again how much I enjoy (adore) your blog posts? Never stop. Cheers! Diane from Virginia

  • I can only agree with previous comments: beautiful photographs and nice captions! :) I love reading those posts so much, they remind me of the time when I lived in Paris… Miss it so dearly…. Keep going! :-)

Submit a comment